Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

 Terms used in this Handbook

ATAR    Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (used by tertiary institutions to select students for

SAC    School-assessed coursework SAT    School-assessed tasks

VCAA   Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (which administers the VCE) VCAL    Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning

VCE     Victorian Certificate of Education

VET     Vocational Education and Training program (of the VCE) VICTER Victorian Tertiary Entrance Requirements
VTAC   Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre 

Structure of the Victorian Certificate of Education

The Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) is an Australian senior school certificate operated by the Victorian Curriculum Assessment Authority (VCAA). It is one of two senior school options offered at Princes Hill Secondary College.

There are approximately 45 subjects in the VCE, some which contain several options. Most subjects have four units, each lasting one semester or half-year.

   Units 1 and 2 are generally taken in Year 11.

   Units 3 and 4, which are more advanced, are usually taken in Year 12.

   Students can, however, take a unit 3 and 4 subject in Year 11 subject to approval.

   While units 1 and 2 can be taken as single units, units 3 and 4 must be taken as a sequence.


It is anticipated that students at Princes Hill SC will undertake:

   In Year 11: six unit 1’s and six unit 2’s, including English or EAL units 1 and 2.

   In Year 12: five unit 3 and 4 sequences including at least one of: English or ESL or
        Literature units 3 and 4.

The majority of students undertake VCE over two years, although it is possible to complete units over 3 (or more) years without penalty. 

  • No labels